## **Biography**



Tadao Nagatsuma received his B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in electronic engineering from Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan, in 1981, 1983, and 1986, respectively. In 1986, he joined the Electrical Communications Laboratories, Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation (NTT), Atsugi, Kanagawa, Japan. From 1999 to 2002, he was a Distinguished Technical Member with NTT Telecommunications Energy Laboratories. From 2003 to 2007, he was a Group Leader with NTT Microsystem Integration Laboratories and was an NTT Research Professor from 2007 to 2009. Since 2007, he has been with Osaka University, Osaka, Japan, where he is currently a Professor with the Division of Advanced Electronics and Optical Science, Department of Systems Innovation, Graduate School of Engineering Science. His research interests include ultrafast electronics and millimeter-wave and terahertz photonics.

Dr. Nagatsuma is a Fellow of the IEEE, a Fellow of the Institute of Electronics, Information and Communication Engineers (IEICE), Japan, and a Fellow of the Electromagnetics Academy. He currently serves as an Associate Editor of the IEEE Photonics Technology Letters and the IEEE Trans. Terahertz Science and Technology, and a Vice President of the IEICE and the Terahertz Systems Consortium. He was the recipient of numerous awards including the 1989 IEICE Young Engineers Award, the 1992 IEEE Andrew R. Chi Best Paper Award, the 1997 Okochi Memorial Award, the 1998 Japan Microwave Prize, the 2000 Ministers Award of the Science and Technology Agency, the 2002 and 2011 Asia-Pacific Microwave Conference Prize, the 2004 YRP (Yokosuka Research Park) Award, the 2006 Asia–Pacific Microwave Photonics Conference Award, the 2006 European Microwave Conference Prize, the 2007 Achievement Award presented by the IEICE, the 2008 Maejima Award, the 2011 Recognition from Kinki Bureau of Telecommunications, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, the 2011 Commendation for Science and Technology by the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, and the 2014 IEEE Tatsuo Ito Award, and the 2020 Distinguished Achievement and Contributions Award by the IEICE.